New Recipe Sunday: Mexican Chicken Chili Soup

Image

The temperature is dropping in Kansas, and there is a possibility of snow in parts of the Sunflower State. For the past few days, the weather has been amazing with the highs in the upper 50s, so this quick change to a high of 25 for Monday is quite the shift. Needless to say, it is soup weather, so this Sunday, I took on Mexican Chicken Chili Soup (here is the recipe). 

Following some of the recipe comments, I did not even come close to using 10 cups of water the recipe desires. Mainly, I had nothing large enough to hold all of the ingredients and that much water, so 4 cups become the magic number for me. 

The comments also mention this soup is much better as leftovers. When I had it for dinner, the flavor was not that strong, which meant hot sauce, more cumin, more cayenne pepper, more chili powder, onion powder, and garlic powder went into the batch on the stove. A can of Rotel may have fallen in as well. Needless to say, the second bowl had quite a bit more flavor.

The soup was still pretty tasty, and it did give me a good excuse to buy tortilla chips, which I may be eating right now as I type this blog entry. 

Sorry for the delay by the way. Tonight was my second attempt at swing dancing, and I learned I was completely wrong about my unforeseen challenge I wrote about last week. It turns out there is much more in terms of gender roles on the dance floor. That, though, is a story for next time. 

 

Leave a Reply

