New Recipe Sunday: Mesopotamian Barley, Lentil and Tahini Soup

A Tasty and Vegan Friendly Mesopotamian Barley, Lentil, and Tahini Soup
A Tasty and Vegan Friendly Mesopotamian Barley, Lentil, and Tahini Soup

Spring is here in Kansas with the weather today being in the 60s. Sure, it was supposed to snow at least an inch yesterday (thankfully, it was beautifully warm instead), but I am just going to pretend that was the last day of winter and ignore my memory of past massive amounts of snow hitting Kansas in April.

So with spring, which sometimes turns into an instant summer in the Sunflower State, here, I figured I should try at least another soup recipe before it gets too hot for soup to seem appealing.  My good friend Andrew recently sent me this recipe for Mesopotamian Barley, Lentil, and Tahini Soup, and his other suggestions have been spot on, so it seemed like a perfect recipe for today.

Not much improvisation took place with this one. I did go for water rather than vegetable stock. Plus, I figured one teaspoon of salt was plenty rather than going for the three for which the recipe calls. Also, only one leek made it into the pot, but it was massive. Some hot sauce may have also been utilized when I was eating it too, but I figured that made up for my not using bird chiles.

The outcome was exactly as Andrew had described it would be — delicious. Definitely, this one will be made again. Plus, the recipe is vegan friendly, so it will be great to have on hand just in case a situation should arise where I need to fix something besides a salad that fits under that category.

Leave a Reply

