New Recipe Sunday: Fun with a Watermelon

A Balsamic Watermelon Chicken Salad with a Refreshing Watermelon Raspberry Sulshie
A Balsamic Watermelon Chicken Salad with a Refreshing Watermelon Raspberry Sulshie

One of my favorite things about late summer would easily be watermelon. And they are even better when they are on sale for an extremely low price at the store or the Farmers’ Market. Today’s inspiration easily came from this love with my making a Balsamic Watermelon Chicken Salad with a tasty Watermelon Raspberry Slushie. It also helped with my having pretty much all of the ingredients in my house too (one week left until I complete my living on a pre-tax minimum wage budget for two different months this year! Then 1 out of 10 of my New Year’s Resolutions will be complete!).

Both of these recipes are quite easy to say the least. For the salad, I need to find a better seasoning for the chicken. I tried to make one from a recipe I found online, but the outcome was just okay. However, I am not going to hold that against the other part of the salad at all, for the rest was quite good. Then for the slushie, I never once thought about freezing watermelon, but the outcome is perfect for a drink like this. Definitely, I will keep this in the mind in the future whenever I am craving Tropical Sno. There were some modifications, though, with the recipe with my leaving out the alcohol and using honey for the sweetener. Both of these were really sacrifices made thanks to the budget (plus, I have a lot of work to do for the rest of the day, so getting started drinking now probably would not be good). The blender-made outcome was still refreshing. 

And speaking of work, back to it I should go. May your week be amazing! 

 

 

One thought on “New Recipe Sunday: Fun with a Watermelon”

  1. You can also grill the watermelon and pair it with vanilla scoop and chocolate topping, jus try, I tried once. Your idea is awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

