New Recipe Sunday: Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

Philly Cheesesteak with Garlic Mayo
Philly Cheesesteak with Garlic Mayo

Well, another year of the Kansas State Fair has come to a close, and my diet will more than likely get better (although truth be told, I was pretty good this year as far as fried-food intake goes). Yesterday when my sister was here for the fair, she had a Philly Cheesesteak for lunch. While I ate my fried-cornflake chicken on a stick, her sandwich intrigued me. At first I thought about getting one last night when I had returned to hang out with some friends, but then the thought of fixing one for New Recipe Sunday seemed like a better idea.

After a bit of searching around online, I found this recipe. Then with my decision never to buy bread again after I remembered I had a bread machine, I turned to finding a recipe for tasty bread, and this one rose to the top. The outcome of modified-versions of both of these turned into an excellent dinner.

Let’s start with the bread recipe first. I actually tried this one twice. For the first time, I forgot the sugar, which I realized after the fact, and it had a bit of a rough start with the bread machine pan not fully lodged inside. Next I tried to make smaller rolls as the recipe called for. The outcome was okay, so I decided to try again. Thanks to an unfortunate incident with the chives landing all over the kitchen floor (it just was one of those weekends), I replaced that part of the recipe with a half teaspoon of onion powder. Plus, I added a little extra water and milk, for the dough for the first round seemed somewhat dry (the recipe had warned me about this). The second outcome was probably some of the best bread I have ever had (there is a chance I was super hungry by the time I ate dinner, so that may have influenced the taste factor).

Then for the Philly Cheesesteak part, the mayonnaise was replaced with Miracle Whip Light while the mozzarella was replaced with provolone. Probably making true Philly Cheesesteak lovers cringe (which the original recipe already had a few complaints from those diehard fans in the comments/reviews), some hot sauce landed on top of it. With this mixture and the extremely tasty bread, the dinner was a huge success and one I will definitely be making again.

May everyone’s week be amazing as September flies by us quickly!

2 thoughts on “New Recipe Sunday: Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo”

Leave a Reply

