New Recipe Sunday on Monday and Random Time-Traveling Thoughts/Endings/Beginnings

Lentil Soup
Lentil Soup

Technical difficulties led to my inability to download the picture of the tasty Lentil Soup I tried yesterday. The recipe itself came from my dear friend/amazing Canadian/former student Taylor Burns. Being me, I did modify it a bit with my adding black eyed peas (my Southern roots) and edamame (green is my favorite color). The result was perfect for an autumn Kansas night. The recipe is as follows:

Taylor’s Tasty Lentil Soup
2 tbsp olive oil
1 large onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic
1 tsp coriander seeds, finely ground
½ tsp cumin
2 oz pancetta (60 g) chopped
2 carrots diced
2 stalks celery, diced
2 bay leaves
½ cup green lentils
½ cup red lentils
5 cups chicken stock
salt and pepper to taste

  • Heat olive oil
  • Brown onion and cook pancetta
  • Add coriander, garlic, cumin halfway through previous step
  • Add everything else
  • Bring to a boil
  • Cover and simmer for about 40 minutes on low heat.

The tonight after I had finished watching this week’s Once Upon a Time while rowing, I decided just to switch over to my iTunes library rather than watch something else for my last five minutes needed to get to 10,000 meters. Cloud Atlas’ “End Title” began to play while my screensaver of photos from past travels accidentally started.

There I rowed while watching the memories from the past flash before me while a beautiful nostalgia-producing song provided my own soundtrack. And with each picture, almost a form of time travel took me to different chapters in my life as I suddenly was back at that moment with camera in hand, scene before me, and the company, if any, beside me.

There I was on the back of ferry watching Rottnest Island slide away into the horizon..
There I was on the back of a ferry watching Rottnest Island slip away into the horizon as a smile rested on my face thanks to my experiencing one of the top five happiest times in my life (and I saw some quokkas too).
Then John and I were standing in front of Timber Lake in Rocky Mountain National Park.
Then John and I were standing in front of Timber Lake in Rocky Mountain National Park.
Then I was standing next to Ben as we started our journey on the Overland Track in Tasmania.
Next I was standing next to my dear Australian friend Ben as we started our journey on the Overland Track in Tasmania.
Suddenly, I was standing on a Kansas road outside of Hoisington, a town just less than a year later I would get to know well, as I grappled with a broken heart and the death of my first serious relationship.
Suddenly, I was on a Kansas road outside of Hoisington, a town just less than a year later I would get to know well, as I grappled with a broken heart and the death of my first serious relationship.
Shane was next to me as we hiked through Sand Hills State Park and we stood before what I will always now call Shane's Tree.
Shane was then next to me as we hiked through Sand Hills State Park and we stood before what I will always now call Shane’s Tree.
From Kansas, I was taken to Washington where my mother stood next me while we admired the beauty of mountain flowers and Hurricane Ridge.
From Kansas, I was taken to Washington where my mother and I admired the beauty of mountain flowers and Hurricane Ridge.
Suddenly, I was walking the streets of New Orleans the morning of the fateful night where a run across the Quarter would lead to my meeting Andrew, one of my dearest friends, at a coffee shop.
Suddenly, I was walking the streets of New Orleans the morning of the fateful night where a run across the Quarter would lead to my meeting Andrew, one of my dearest friends, at a coffee shop.
Which then flashed forward just four months to where Andrew and I rode bikes through City Park.
Which then flashed forward just four months to where Andrew and I rode bikes through City Park.
And then back to Hutchinson I was, admiring the beauty of Main Street on a Spring Third Thursday.
And then back to Hutchinson I was, admiring the beauty of Main Street on a Spring Third Thursday.

The pictures and the time travel continued as I rowed forward against no currents both towards but more away from my past. The music, as dramatic as this sounds, was giving this feeling of a finality of a chapter taking place. And now a new one, I guess, begins. Armed with a new mindset thanks to the podcast On Being and Ellen Langer (definitely check it out), I am ready for this one. 80 days remain for 2014, and if one can go around the world in that time, surely I can check off these remaining New Year’s Resolutions.

Needless to say, there are many memories to make and photos to take in this latest chapter that starts tonight as I follow the lyrics of one of my favorite songs, which just happened to play right after the “End Title,” and burn the boats back to who I used to be.

Just curious, what are some of your favorite photos that take you time traveling whenever you see them?

Leave a Reply

