New Recipe Sunday: Tandoori Chicken and Lentil Soup

Tandoori Chicken and Lentil Soup
Tandoori Chicken and Lentil Soup

Last night when I was in Wichita with some Hutchinson friends to celebrate two birthdays and watch a movie, I picked up some Tandoori Spice from Whole Foods. Still craving soup, the idea for Tandoori Chicken Soup sounded great; however, much to my surprise, I couldn’t find a recipe online that jumped out at me. Becoming creative, I put this one together using a few recipes for Tandoori Soup and Mulligatawny Soup as inspiration.

Tandoori Chicken And Lentil Soup
1 Chicken Breast (Roasted and then Shredded)
1 (or so) tbsp of Olive Oil
1 Frozen Mirepoix Style Blend (onions, carrots, and celery)
1/2 White Onion (diced)
1 Sweet Potato (Peeled and then Chopped into Desired Size)
4 or so Mushrooms (sliced)
1 Apple (Peeled and then Chopped into Desired Size)
1 Can of No-Salt-Added Diced Tomatoes
3 tsp Tandoori Spice (I would probably try 4 tsp next time)
1 13.66 Can of Coconut Milk
1 32oz Carton of Low Sodium Chicken Broth
1/2 Cup of Red Lentils (rinsed and ready to be cooked)
Spinach (I used half a bag of frozen cut leaf spinach)

Hot Sauce of your choice (desired amount)

In a dutch oven, add olive oil and the frozen mirepoix style blend. Sauté. Once unfrozen and sautéed for a while, add the chopped onion. Continue to sauté. Afterward, add the sweet potato, sliced mushrooms, and apple. Sauté these latest additions. Then add the Diced Tomatoes. Stir well and add the Tandoori Spice. Continue to stir as all of the ingredients continue to be sautéed. Then add the Coconut Milk and Low Sodium Chicken Broth. Add the spinach, lentils, and desired amount of hot sauce. Stir well before bringing everything to a boil. Then cover and simmer for an hour (it probably does not have to be this long; however, I was needing to row for an hour).   Afterwards, serve, add more hot sauce if desired, and enjoy.

This was at least what I did. The recipe was super easy, and the leftovers are going to be great to have this week as another semester comes to a close. Definitely, I love soup season.
In other areas of my personal life, I only have 124,000 meters left to row to get to one million. To help inspire me even more, Concept2 has a Holiday Challenge taking place. For every person who rows at least 100,000 meters between November 27 and December 24, Concept2 will donate $.02 per 1000 meters to one of the following organizations: World Food Programme, WhyHunger, or Salvation Farms. Once the person gets beyond 100K, Concept2 will donate $.04 per 1000 meters rowed. In addition to downloadable certificates at the 100K mark, Concept2 will send a free Holiday Challenge pin to anyone who rows 200K during that window of time. Needless to say, this challenge helps inspire the rowing even more. While I am not sure if I will get to the 200k point (I am going to try though), I am definitely going to row more than 100k (I already have 76,964 meters logged for the challenge), help a charity receive donations, and accomplish this New Year’s Resolution.

I hope everyone has a fantastic week! And if you try the recipe, let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

