New Recipe Sunday (from last Sunday): Chai-Spiced Chicken, Barley, and Chickpea Stew and Plus One Million Meters Rowed!

This Sunday led to no cooking with my going to my sister’s to have Christmas with her, my nephew, my brother-in-law, and my mother. Then after having a great lunch with them, I stopped in Wichita to pick up a few things and watch Wild, which led to my having popcorn for dinner.

To make up for not cooking this week, I have last week’s recipe I was not able to post to a lack of Internet at my house.

Chai-Spiced Chicken Barley and Chickpea Stew
Chai-Spiced Chicken Barley and Chickpea Stew

Thanks to a good friend, I have tons of decaf chai tea (Greg, you are the best!), and that led to my wondering if there were recipes out there that used chai tea. Sure enough, there are including this one for Chai-Spiced Chicken Barley and Chickpea Stew.  I followed the recipe quite closely except for my not actually putting chai tea leaves in the soup itself (I placed a couple of bags in there though), for there was uncertainty in my head about eating tea leaves (my limited Internet access led to no clear results. Please feel free to comment on this let to let me know). I also threw in spinach too too add some color to the stew. The end result was still quite tasty.

In other parts of my life . . .

Hutchinson's Hyde Park's Luminaries
Hutchinson’s Hyde Park’s Luminaries

First, I heart Hutch! On Saturday was the annual Luminaries in Hyde Park. It is just fantastic with the neighborhood being lit by this magic that flows throughout the area. Carriage rides, free apple cider, carolers, and open houses just bring everything together to make it an event not to be missed by people around this area.

Second, exciting New Year’s Resolution update. As mentioned before, Concept2 is having a Holiday Challenge, and my goal was to row at least 200,000 meters between Thanksgiving and Christmas.

Here are the chain of events from this weekend in pictures:

My First Marathon
My First Marathon

2014 Holiday Challenge

Another Part of a New Year's Resolution Accomplished!
Another Part of a New Year’s Resolution Accomplished!

Yep, one more thing checked off my list. Now I just need to get to work on my Spanish . . .

One thought on “New Recipe Sunday (from last Sunday): Chai-Spiced Chicken, Barley, and Chickpea Stew and Plus One Million Meters Rowed!”

  1. I has never crossed my mind of cooking with tea, however there are edible teas that I have explored and they are quite tasty in a weird reconstituted textured way. Congratulations on reaching the goal of rowing a million. That is freaking awesome. Bon Jour

Leave a Reply

