New Recipe Sunday: Raspberry Chipotle Chicken Soup

Raspberry Chipotle Chicken Soup
Raspberry Chipotle Chicken Soup

Let me begin by saying this recipe isn’t quite good enough to duplicate. It has promise though, so I will be coming back to this one and play around with it. Once it is ready, I will post a good recipe to try. However, feel free to play around with these ingredients, and if you have any suggestions, please do share.

With a very large bill in my near future for my first semester as a PhD student, I am doing my best to save money where I can. This also means that I will probably be quite experimental with my new recipes with many of them based upon what I have on hand (when I was putting my financial budget together last night and examining last year’s expenses, it was unreal how much money I spent on groceries last year). Last week’s Chicken Curry Soup (the recipe will be posted later as well) was quite good, so there may be some successes. Meanwhile, there will also be some decent and failures as far as new recipes go I am sure. And now with the disclaimers being over . . .

Lately, a great love for chipotle seasoning has grown within me. This led to my thinking, “I should make Chipotle Chicken Soup.” Not finding a recipe where I had all of the ingredients, I decided to be a mad scientist in the kitchen once again. And then at the last moment, two tablespoons of raspberry preserve seemed like a brilliant idea.

Once again, I wouldn’t try this exactly as I did, but definitely, you could experiment.

Ingredients
First Step
1 tbsp of Olive Oil
1 Package of Kroger’s Frozen Mirepoix Style Vegetables (diced celery, onions, carrots)
Part of a Package of Kroger’s Frozen 3 Pepper & Onion Blend
Frozen Corn
Frozen Blackeyed Peas (I wanted black beans, but alas, none were in my pantry)

Second Step
2 tbsp of Chipotle Seasoning (probably would just go with one next time)
2 tbsp of minced garlic
1 tbsp of Cumin
1 tbsp of Onion Powder
1 tbsp of Garlic Powder

Third Step
1 can of No Salt Added Diced Tomatoes
1/2 Cup of Kroger’s Private Selection Chipotle Chili Pepper Salsa

Fourth Step
1 Shredded Chicken Breast (my roaster is doing a great job with preparing the chicken breast to shred)

Fifth Step
1 32 oz Carton of Low-Sodium Chicken Broth
2 tbsp of Raspberry Preserve

Sixth Step
Mexican Style Shredded Cheese

Directions

In a dutch oven, cook/sort of sauté the the frozen vegetables under the First Step in the olive oil. Once unfrozen, add the seasonings listed under the Second Step to the dutch oven. Continue to stir while enjoying the aroma. Then add the ingredients from the third step. Continue to stir and continue to enjoy the aroma. Next, add the shredded chicken breast listed under the fourth step. As you guessed, continue to stir while also realizing this could be used for a great taco filling (once the proper amount of seasonings are figured out of course). Then add the Chicken Broth and stir in the Raspberry Preserve. Bring everything to a boil before lowering the temperature to a simmer and covering. Let it simmer for an hour or so (during this time, I was trying to lure Callie with treats into using the pet steps to get onto her bed, so I lost track of how long it simmered. If anyone has any tips on how to get dogs to use pet steps, please let me know). Afterwards, serve in a bowl with cheese sprinkled on top of it.

In other parts of my life . . .
As mentioned in the directions, I have been trying to get Callie to use pet stairs to save her from hurting herself with her jumping on and off her bed. As you can see in the second picture, I have managed to get her to stand on the top stair coming down. Plus, she has stood on the the bottom stair going up, but that middle stair has yet to happen for her. I have faith in Callie though, for she is a clever one. Any tips at all would definitely be greatly appreciated!

As the dog treat sits there, not knowing its fate.
As the dog treat sits there, not knowing its fate.
The first step supposedly is the hardest, but the second step has yet to be made.
The first step supposedly is the hardest, but the second step can be just as hard it seems. 
Leave a Reply

