New Recipe Sunday: Fajita Chicken Breast with Avocado Salsa

Fajita Chicken Breast with Avocado Salsa
Fajita Chicken Breast with Avocado Salsa

I apologize for a couple of weeks of not posting. The PhD program is keeping my weekends busy. While there have been new recipes taking place, writing these posts hasn’t happened as you can see. I will try to post those recipes in the future though, for they were tasty.

This weekend led to some avocados being on hand, so I decided to try to make avocado salsa with them using other ingredients I could find in the house. However, I knew I needed something on which to put the avocado salsa, so I dug out my fajita seasoning recipe (I don’t add the salt or the bouillon cube and it still turns out well), placed that on some chicken breasts, cooked those in a skillet for a while on both sides with some olive oil, and then placed them in the oven at 400 degrees for about eight minutes (or until cooked).

Then I looked at some avocado salsa recipes online. Not having any fresh tomatoes and wanting to use what I had in my pantry to save money and a trip to the store, I drained one of my no-salt added cans of Rotel and placed it in a bowl, added some diced avocados, threw in some diced onions, and added some garlic salt. The result was pretty good although some seasonings would probably make it better.

Wanting to add just a bit more to my dinner, I sautéed some of the Kroger’s three-pepper blend in the skillet after I had removed the chicken from it. With a little bit of olive oil and some left-over fajita seasoning, the peppers turned out great.

In the end, this was a pretty basic recipe, but it was tasty (especially with the added cheese), and I am looking forward to the leftovers where this will become a fajita chicken breast with avocado salsa salad.

And now off to work on some discussion forum posts I should go.

Hope everything is going well in everyone’s world!
Recipe for an Extremely Basic Avocado Salsa
Drained can of No Salt Added Rotel
One diced avocado
Desired amount of diced white onions
1/4 tsp of garlic salt

Place all of the ingredients in a bowl and stir.

Leave a Reply

