June’s Theme: Morning (and Evening) Routines Revisited

Pretty much the majority, if not all, sources on productivity will at some time or another praise morning routines as being crucial to a productive day. So many books, podcasts, articles, blog posts, and videos have gone on about how that time before the working day begins can change one’s life depending on how the minutes are used. Hal Elrod alone has made a huge career with The Miracle Morning. Given my addiction to self-help sources, I have read about morning routines over and over. One of my favorites pieces done on them would be this recent video by Thomas Frank, who is the man behind of one of my favorite YouTube channels/websites, College Info Geek:

Despite my love for mornings, my routine definitely does stray, so it seemed like a good idea after ending the month of May with a birthday, to bring the morning routine back into focus to help accomplish my goals for not only the rest of the year but also my life. Mornings alone didn’t seem like enough for a monthly theme given this was a New Year’s Resolution last year, so an evening routine was thrown into the mix too (in part inspired by Frank’s point about them and in other part because it made sense).

I sat down on the evening of May 31, tried to listen to Thomas Frank’s advice to start small, and set my desired schedule for a morning. The four essential pieces I set to begin the day were jogging (or a cardio workout of some sort), a weight workout, yoga, and meditation (breakfast and the other morning prep work were just a given).

FullSizeRender-1.jpg
My Morning Yoga Routine (along with my personal mission statement and some of my general resolves for life)

Then for the evening, they were updating my Personalized Progress Log, going over my schedule and goals for the next day, and getting my work clothes ready for the morning. Additional parts thrown into the different routines as the month progressed (that were also some of the first to be cut out too) were writing, reading, playing the guitar, and drawing.

Looking back on the month of June, I cannot quite say it was a success; however, it wasn’t quite a failure either. Rather, it was more the start of some good habits although some days were indeed missed with only one or sometimes unfortunately none of the essentials happening. Also, now likely making excuses, the month of June wasn’t exactly filled with my most typical days. Two different weeks had me going into work at 6:45 AM to open the office thanks to a colleague being on vacation. Although I told myself I could wake up earlier to accomplish everything, I didn’t listen well to that advice. Then another week had me in Topeka for a couple of days for work, and the one other week entailed my taking my mother to visit one of her high school classmates in Colorado with our then taking the long way home to check out some national parks (the Black Canyon of the Gunnison is amazing!) I had yet to visit and see some other nifty places in the state that continues to steal my heart.

Even with the failures, there were some great takeaways though. When I accomplished at least my set of four morning routine essentials, I felt great. Plus, ironing my clothes the night before will now for sure become a habit thanks to its eliminating my previous habit of triple-checking and sometimes quadruple-checking to make sure my iron was unplugged before I left for work (and sometimes even driving back to my house after I had left to be sure about that). Then the stretching from the yoga routine always felt wonderful, and updating my Personalized Progress Log each night led to great reflection about the day as well as helped me accomplish another one of my New Year’s Resolutions for 2017.

The regular jogging, although never very long, was also a good addition to my life too with my still imagining those daily steps are being done with my imaginary mentor created back in April. There were also some fantastic sunrises spotted during those early morning outings. Although most places where we stayed during the Colorado adventure were not necessarily outdoor-jogging friendly, I did have a great run in Buena Vista and another after we left Pagosa Springs that led me to the bridge view of Treasure Falls.

FullSizeRender
Treasure Falls, Colorado – A great place to prove I was definitely not in shape for jogging at a higher elevation

Without a doubt, it’s going to take much longer than a month for my morning and evening routines to become a constant in my life, but some good steps were taken in June by bringing both into focus. With July’s theme involving at least fifteen minutes of reading for pleasure and at least fifteen minutes of writing for pleasure being part of each day, I have a feeling those routines starting and ending each day are not going anywhere anytime soon.

Tips for Setting Up Morning and Evening Routines

  • Start small and slowly add to them if you so desire.
  • Know the reason why you want to make each part of the routine a habit and have a good reason. This will increase motivation.
  • Track each day (a checklist works well. I put each of the tasks in my Personalized Progress Log which is in an Excel document, so I am able to keep track of them there. Also, marking off each day you stay with your routines on a paper calendar would work too).
  • Give yourself plenty of time in the morning and evening to accomplish your routines. If your schedule is thrown off, try for at least one of the tasks you have as an essential.
  • Make things easy for you by having the morning and evening routines complement each other. There is power in synergy.
  • If you should miss a day, simply start again after reflecting upon why you missed them.
  • Reflect upon how the routines have changed your life for the better. Doing so will help with your motivation to keep them going.

 

Post Script
Starting at the beginning of June, I also gave up drinking alcohol. More on that later though.

Leave a Reply

